Fishery Items

Saury

Saury (lat. Cololabis saíra) is a ray-finned fish of the saury family. It lives in the Japan and Okhotsk seas (Kamchatka, Kuril Islands, Alaska), Korea, Japan and Mexico.

 There are several subspecies depending on the places of living: Pacific, Japanese and Atlantic. They have different lifestyles and appearance, but the meat is identical.

 Saury has an elongated body with a highly visible lateral line and little scales. Its head is small, the lower jaw is pushed forward, the back is greenish and the sides are silvery. It reaches 40 cm long, with a very low weight (200-400 gr).

 Sauries prefer deep waters - depth from 10 to 200 m. In autumn, they migrate southward, northward - in spring. They eat crustaceans, molluscs, roes of other fishes. The meat often has a greenish tint – the reason is marine plankton, which colours the internal organs of sauries.

 The fish lives in schools, which makes catching much easier. Season catching is done with traps and fishing nets. This fish is loved all over Russia due to well-known dishes with this product: soups, salads, snacks and pastes.

Объекты промысла

Сайра

Сайра (лат. Cololabis saira) – лучеперая рыба семейства макрелещуковых. Ареал обитания: Японское и Охотское море (Камчатка, Курильские острова, Аляска), берега Кореи, Японии, Мексики.

Существует несколько подвидов в зависимости от мест распространения: тихоокеанская, японская и атлантическая. Различаются жизненной средой и внешним видом, мясо практически идентично.

Сайра имеет вытянутое тело с ярко-выраженной боковой линией и небольшой чешуей. Маленькая голова, нижняя челюсть больше верхней и выдвинута вперед, зеленоватая спинка, серебристые бока. В длину достигает 40 см, при этом вес совсем невелик - 200-400 гр.

Предпочитает толщу воды, селится на глубине от 10 до 200 м. Осенью мигрирует на юг, весной – на север. Питается ракообразными, моллюсками, икрой других рыб. Нередко мясо имеет зеленоватый оттенок – все дело в морском планктоне, который сайра любит поедать: пигмент окрашивает внутренние органы.

Рыба стайная, что существенно упрощает лов. Сезонный промысел ведется круглосуточно сетями и ловушками. Сайру любят и знают во всех регионах России, благодаря великолепным консервам, которые дали основу многим блюдам: супам, салатам, закускам, паштетам.