Fishery Items

Thorncheek grouper

Thorncheek grouper (lat. Sebastolobus macrochir) is one of the species of groupers. Belongs to the rockfish, as a deep waters representative (from 300 to 1500 m). It is found in the North Pacific Ocean: Kuril Islands, Kamchatka, Alaska. The life period is 25-30 years.

 There are two types: Alaskan and albacore, which despite unstable catching and small dimensions (up to 50 cm in length and 1.5 kg), is highly quoted on the Asian market (especially in Japan), thanks to the exclusive taste.

Grouper is usually red with small cheeks thorns, huge eyes, pulled up, which help to navigate at the sea bottom. The lower fin is divided into two lobes - the fish backs against the bottom and thus moves. But, in general, the fish is not quick: most often it lies and waits for a prey: shrimps, crabs, crustaceans, it suddenly attacks and then again falls in silt and sand.

 It is interesting, that caviar is produced together with mucus, which forms a protective bubble that raises the 'kids' on the surface of the sea. To the naked eye to notice these bubbles is impossible.

 The meat is juicy enough, but a bit harsh.  It is rich in fatty acids, vitamins, minerals, contains a lot of fluoride and calcium, used in all cuisines of the world.

Объекты промысла

Окунь шипощек

Окунь шипощек (лат. Sebastolobus macrochir) – один из видов морского окуня. Относится к семейству скорпеновых, являясь глубоководным представителем (от 300 до 1500 м). Обитает в северной части Тихого океана: Курилы, Камчатка, Аляска. Продолжительность жизни 25-30 лет.

Существует два вида: аляскинский и длинноперый, причем второй, несмотря на нестабильный улов и небольшие габариты (до 50 см и 1,5 кг), высоко котируется на азиатском рынке (особенно в Японии), благодаря исключительным вкусовым качествам.

Окунь обычно красного цвета, на щеках имеет небольшие шипы (отсюда и название), обладает огромными глазами, вывернутыми вверх, что помогает ориентироваться в придонной обстановке. Внизу плавник поделен на две лопасти – рыба упирается им в дно и таким образом передвигается. Но, вообще, подвижным шипощека не назовешь: чаще всего он лежит и поджидает добычу – креветок, крабов, ракообразных, внезапно нападает и вновь опускается в ил и песок.

Интересно, что икра выметывается вместе со слизью, которая образует охранный пузырь и поднимает «деток» на поверхность моря. Невооруженным глазом заметить эти баллоны невозможно.

Мясо достаточно сочное, но немного жестковатое. Богато жирными кислотами, витаминами, минералами, содержит много фтора и кальция. Используется во всех кухнях мира.