Fishery Items

Commander squid

Commander squid (lat. Berryteuthis magister) is a headfoot mollusc having an oblong body with tentacles in front, allowing moving at a great speed in mid-waters. It lives in the Bering, Okhotsk, Japan Seas. It eats big plankton and small fish.

 Females are typically larger than males. The largest individuals reach 40 cm in length with a weight of up to 2.5 kg. A medium-sized squid is 25-30 cm and 1-1, 5 kg.

 The life period is short - just two years. Mature individuals adhere to the bottom and raise upper only at night. Young squids prefer to be at the surface. Squid is an important element of the food chain: it is the food for many fish, birds, as well as whales and sea lions.

 Catching is allowed during migration (March-July, September-January) in one place: the Pacific side of the Kuril Islands, where there are the abundance of rocks and a very uneven terrain, which makes extraction difficult and sometimes dangerous, but there is no choice, as the of individuals are protected by the Commander Reserve.

Squid is a real delicacy product, favourite both in Asia and in Europe. Dishes with squid are found in all the world's cuisines in a variety of forms, including as an ingredient for salads, hot dishes and even pizza.

Объекты промысла

Командорский кальмар (лат. Berryteuthis magister) – головоногий моллюск, имеющий продолговатое тело с щупальцами впереди, что позволяет молниеносно передвигаться в толще воды. Обитает в Беринговом, Охотском, Японском морях. Питается крупным планктоном и мелкой рыбой.

Самки обычно крупнее самцов. Самые большие особи в длину достигают 40 см при весе до 2,5 кг. Чаще же встречаются средние кальмары – 25-30 см, 1-1,5 кг. 

Жизнь животного коротка – всего два года. Зрелые особи придерживаются дна и только с наступление ночи поднимаются в толщу, а молодежь чаще всего резвится у поверхности. Кальмар - важный элемент пищевой цепи: это пища многих хищных рыб, птиц, а также китов и морских котиков.

Промысел ведут в период миграции (март-июль, сентябрь-январь) практически в одном месте: с тихоокеанской стороны Курильских островов. Здесь обилие скал, очень неровный рельеф, что делает добычу тяжелой, а подчас и опасной, но выбора нет - остальное значительное количество особей находится под охраной Командорского заповедника.

Кальмар – настоящий деликатесный продукт, любимый как в Азии, так и в Европе. Блюда из моллюска встречаются во всех мировых кухнях в самых разнообразных формах, в том числе и в качестве ингредиента для салатов, горячего и даже пиццы.