Fishery Items

Bartram squid

Bartram squid (lat. Ommastrephes bartrami) inhabits waters of the Pacific ocean from the Kuril Islands to Taiwan. This is a rather large species (16-30 cm, up to 1300 kg), leading a bottom-pelagic lifestyle: in the daytime, it can be seen only at great depths, near the bottom, but at night, extracting food squid often hunts at the very surface. The food is predominantly small fish, but also crustaceans, molluscs, worms, and even their own posterity.

 A characteristic feature of the animal is the ability to fly. This kind of squids picks up water in the mantle and then emits it under pressure. The result is a good flying for distances up to 30 m at a speed of 11 m/s. This is due to the environment: squid releases ink, disorienting a predator, and flies away, protecting its short but eventful life (animals die after spawning).

 Fishing takes place in autumn, when squids migrate to warmer water. They are caught using bright light.

Unlike other marine creatures, squid has no fish smell; therefore, it is suitable for people with certain gastronomic habits. It is interesting, that the smaller an individual is, the more gentle its meat is. Squid does not contain any cholesterol and fat, is rich in fiber, phosphorus, iron, potassium, etc. Regular use assists a proper metabolism.

Объекты промысла

Кальмар-бартрама

Кальмар-бартрама (лат. Ommastrephes bartrami) обитает в водах Тихого океана от Курильских островов до о. Тайвань. Это достаточно крупный вид (16-30 см, может достигать до 1300 кг), ведущий донно-пелагический образ жизни: днем его можно встретить только на большой глубине, практически у самого дна, однако ночью, добывая пищу, кальмар часто охотится у самой поверхности. К слову, питание составляет преимущественно небольшая рыба, но не брезгует и ракообразными, моллюсками, червями и даже собственным потомством.

Особенность животного в умении летать. Данный вид набирает воду в мантию и, разгоняясь, под давлением ее выбрасывает. В итоге получается неплохой полет на расстояние до 30 м со скоростью 11 м/с! Это обусловлено средой обитания: кальмар выпускает чернила, дезориентируя хищника, и в буквальном смысле улетает, защищая свою короткую, но насыщенную жизнь (после нереста животные погибают).

Промысел идет осенью, когда кальмар мигрирует в более теплые воды. Ловят его ночью, на свет. Так как кальмар фосфоресцирует, его хорошо видно в темной воде.

В кулинарии продукт встречается во всех возможных формах: вареный, тушеный, соленый, вяленый, копченый, маринованный и пр. - все дело в нежном филе, которое при правильной обработке приобретает неповторимое звучание. Кроме того, являясь морским обитателей, кальмар после приготовления практически не пахнет рыбой, что делает его весьма популярным у людей с различными пищевыми привычками.